jump to navigation

Yuki-Matsuri in Sapporo February 12, 2007

Posted by urbanblue in Adventures.
trackback

Arctic PalaceHokkaido “kani”The Ice Bar

I have just returned from the Snow Festival in Sapporo. This is a festival that I have wanted to go to ever since I came to Japan, and finally this year I did it. Sapporo is right in the north of Japan in Hokkaido, where the below minus temperatures ensure a winter full of deep snow. And they create a whole range of absolutely incredible ice sculptures and display them in a long street-like park called O-dori koen. About two million people visit each year (the festival is only a weekend long), and it really is worth it. I wanted to put a lot more pictures here, but it’s difficult to know which ones to choose. So I’ve put what I thought was the most amazing one, the Arctic Scene. This isn’t actually the best picture of it, but I wanted to show the scale of the thing, it is gargantuan. There were also sculptures of castles, palaces, comic book characters (including three Thomas the Tank Engines), animals…. hundreds of stuff.

The food was also out of this world, including the famous Sapporo kani (crab) and the Genghis Khan barbeque (lamb cooked on a hot griddle at the table). And there were even bars made out of ice to have a drink at after. I am so glad I went, and am also so glad I didn’t go arse over tit on the ice, which was a distinct possibility.

Thank you SO much Masaru for taking me!!!

Comments»

1. yokohamarama - February 19, 2007

Looks fantastic (and cold!). Must get up there myself one of these days. I too have been extremely blog-shy too but hasten to add that we’re back with new posts (though don’t know how long it will last).


Leave a Reply

