jump to navigation

A man needs a hobby. December 4, 2006

Posted by urbanblue in Adventures.
trackback

 A very crucial momentMy flying fish chopsticks holder

Which is why yesterday I went to my very first pottery class. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I have amazingly talented hands. From a mere lump of clay I fashioned a beautiful sake cup, a decorative chopsticks holder in the form of a flying fish, and a thingy for keeping your bits and bobs in. All under the watchful eye of Konoji-sensei, who really was a lovely guy and a fantastic teacher. And only a few times did he take whatever I was supposed to be making off of me and fix whatever horrendous pottery faux pas I had committed.

Bizarrely this class takes place in the Toto toilet factory in Kanagawa. Well in the same building at least, there weren’t any bidets or bedpans lying about the place. I have signed up for next week’s class too, when I shall be learning how to make that little ridge thing on the bottom of mugs.

One thing though, I will be drawing the line at making decorative plates with pictures of kittens or similar. There really is no excuse for that kind of nonsense.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

