jump to navigation

New phone October 22, 2006

Posted by urbanblue in Day-to-Day.
trackback

Moshi Moshi?
So I got myself a new keitai (mobile phone) today. It comes to something when the phone you bought only two years ago is already a dinosaur, and they don’t even produce it anymore. This new phone is all very fancy-pants. My choice of ring tones are for some reason very organic, such as the sound of water over bamboo or rain on the rocks. It even has a “Relax” function, which is basically like a sound machine to help you get to sleep by listening to crickets chirping or waves. Very Zen. It’s also a “Suica” phone. Those of you who are in Japan will know what I mean. For those of you in the UK, Suica is the Japanese version of Oyster. For those of you who still have no idea what I’m banging on about, it basically means I can store money on my phone and use it to get on trains by tapping it against a sensor on the ticket gates. Apparently I can also use it as a credit card, and store discount vouchers on it by hovering it near advertisements in papers. I don’t fully understand that bit, and perhaps it’s best I don’t to be honest. There is a digital camera function, video camera fuction, barcode reader,  calendar, fingerprint sensor and voice memo function.

Oh, and you can make phonecalls with it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

