jump to navigation

A dodgy start! October 8, 2006

Posted by urbanblue in Day-to-Day.
trackback

I finished my first week at my new job on Friday…. by being sent home early with a fever. Hmm. As Friday progressed my temperature kept going up and up and I started shivering, and eventually my new boss decided I’d be better off in bed and he sent me home. Not the best start I’d say, but there it is. He was really OK about it, and thankfully it’s a long weekend due to there being a National Holiday on Monday so I have three full days to recover. I got home at 6pm on Friday, went straight to bed, and slept for the next 18 hours. Sadly, as a result, I wasn’t able to go to Bu’s live concert yesterday or Jen’s birthday Scavenger Hunt today, both of which I was really looking forward to. 😦
But the rest has done me the world of good, and today I’m feeling much better, albeit not 100% just yet. I have managed to get in several hours of DVD viewing. I have watched (for the hundreth time in many cases):

  • The Birds (plus the documentary – jeez, Tippi Hedren had a lot to put up with!)
  • It’s a Wonderful Life
  • Citizen Kane
  • Little Britain (the sketch with Matt Lucas as the Rev. Jesse King had me laughing out loud and consequently coughing for a full three minutes)
  • Catherine Tate
  • Strangers on a Train

And tomorrow will be a mammoth Lord of the Rings extravaganza. That will certainly pass the time.

Comments»

1. Shonan Girl - October 9, 2006

Get well soon. Are you eating properly? I hope you don’t eat too many packets of jacket potato flavour crisps (as yummy as they are).
The little ‘un has been poorly too – lots of dribble and snot to mop up.

2. urbanblue - October 9, 2006

Well I’m doing my best to eat well, but my oven caught on fire last night trying to make some garilc bread! So I’m off to brave the Bank Holiday crowds at Yodobashi Camera today to get a new one.
Feeling much better today thanks, and I really hope the little fella is too! O-daiji ni!


Leave a Reply

