jump to navigation

Tasty treats for the last day of freedom October 1, 2006

Posted by urbanblue in Day-to-Day.
trackback

Convenience Store treats

Today is my last day before I re-enter the workforce as a fully-fledged salaryman. I have just come back from collecting my suits at the dry-cleaners, who, thank god, were open on a Sunday (I stupidly put all my suits in to be cleaned – that would have made for a very interesting first day at work had they been closed..). And so, on the way back up picked up a few bits from my local convenience store to have for lunch.

Now there’s something inherently British in me that means lunch is a sandwich, a packet of crisps and a chocolate bar. Throw in my dad’s tea and you’ve got a winner, but it’s a bit much to ask him to fly the six thousand miles just to make that so I have to suffice with my own. I could do the Japanese thing and have cold noodles and dried seaweed, but because they’re bloody horrible I tend not to. What I do have to endure though is the Japanese versions of the above items. Today we have a packet of “Ara Potato” crisps (which are – ingeniously – jacket potato flavour), a bottle of green tea (which my dad did not make) and a Snickers (nothing wrong with that really except it will always be a Marathon to me). We also have the convenience store sandwich. In this case a ham sandwich with the crusts cut off. Inside is a little sliver of ham drowned in sweet sickly mayonnaise. Bleah.
Now I could have always made my own sandwich. My fridge is full of Branston pickle from various friends who’ve lugged it over in their suitcases, and some nice shoulder ham from the deli. But seeing as today is my last day of freedom and all, that just seemed like a little too much effort.

Comments»

1. yokohamarama - October 3, 2006

Nothing better than a good conbeni lunch to set you up for the rigours of salaryman life (especially all the salt and sugar). Hope your first day was a blast !

2. urbanblue - October 3, 2006

First day was scary as hell (as all first days are wont to be) but fun nonetheless! Nice to be back in the 9 to 5 (or actually in my case 6) workforce again!


Leave a Reply

