jump to navigation

The third of my images of Japan collection September 17, 2006

Posted by urbanblue in Images of Japan.
trackback

This is my favourite food in Japan. “Tonkatsu“. It’s hardly the healthy option, being deep-fried breaded pork cutlets, but (provided you go to a decent place) it is incredibly good. It’s served with mustard and a rich sweet barbeque-type sauce, plus – to counteract all the fat – some shredded raw cabbage. As with most Japanese restaurants, if you order the “teishoku” (set meal) it will come with boiled rice, miso soup and a selection of pickles.

This particular photo was taken at a restaurant in Shimoda. In actual fact this wasn’t the best tonkatsu I’ve ever had. The pork wasn’t particularly lean, it was very fatty. But hey, you get the idea. Plus I don’t have an extensive range of tonkatsu pictures in my library so it’ll have to do!

Tonkatsu

Comments»

1. andy finegan - September 17, 2006

oh baby – the lardier the better,as far as I’m concerned.

2. urbanblue - September 17, 2006

Yes, I’m usually with you there!! But the pig that this particular cut came from was verging on the Mama Cass I reckon.

3. yokohamarama - September 18, 2006

As a fellow tonkatsu lover I suggest going for the hirekatsu to avoid the fat. Have you ever been to Katsuretsuan in Bashamichi? The best tonkatsu ever!

4. yokohamabrian - September 18, 2006

Ah yes. The tonkatsu. I remember something about that between the nama beerus and various things with the name “sour”. Do you remember how HUGE that cauldron of dipping sauce was??

5. urbanblue - September 18, 2006

Bu – I haven’t tried Katsuretsuan, but I will! And you’re right, hirekatsu is better. But if you can find a good ロース it is worth it!!

Yokohamabrian – I also remember that your tonkatsu was even fattier! In fact did you have any meat at all?!


Leave a Reply

