jump to navigation

The second of my images of Japan collection September 13, 2006

Posted by urbanblue in Images of Japan.
trackback

Rush hour in Tokyo never ends. The picture below looks very crowded, but in actual fact it was taken on a relatively quiet Saturday afternoon and is to most Tokyo residents’ minds very spacious. I wouldn’t even be able to raise my hands to take the photo if it was the Den-En-Toshi line on a Monday morning. I once travelled over twenty minutes on that line on one leg, simply because so many people got on that there was no space for me to put my other foot on the floor.

So it’s all very intimate!

But train travel, for any Tokyo or Yokohama resident, is an integral part of daily life. The train system (despite the squishiness) really is superb. I often use a web page on my “keitai” (mobile telephone) to determine the quickest and cheapest route to get to places. It’ll give me the exact ticket prices of the trains, how long it’ll take me to walk from platform to platform, and what time – to the minute – the train will arrive. And due to the fantastic reliability of Japanese trains, it’s never wrong. Unless someone jumps on the tracks of course…..

One more thing, in the six and a half years I’ve been living here, to my knowledge, Japan Railways have not raised their tickets prices once. Not even a little bit. Are you paying attention to that London Transport?!…….

The Tokaido Line

Comments»

1. yokohamarama - September 14, 2006

Ahh, the one-legged train journeys. Never once attracted a chikan though. . .

2. urbanblue - September 16, 2006

I think I did once. I couldn’t work out if I was being “chikan”‘ed or if the bloke had no choice but to put his hands there.. again, the Den En Toshi line.

3. andy finegan - September 17, 2006

did I tell you about the time I was stuck on the train with my hand stuck up this guys arse? train was so crowded that I couldn’t move – I was holding my briefcase – and we both pretended that my hand was not up his arse, so that we could get to work with our dignity intact…


Leave a Reply

